Are you ready to sell your salvage car in Kansas? If not, we’re here to help. We’ll discuss everything you need to sell your salvage car and other options if you don’t want to sell your car. Let’s jump right in!
The Kansas Department of Revenue (KS DOR) defines a salvage car as a late model vehicle that’s damaged to the extent that the cost to repair the car would be at least 75% of the car’s fair market value before the damages were sustained.
A salvage car in Kansas can also be a vehicle that is NOT a late model vehicle that is missing required equipment for proper operation or damaged to the point the car requires significant repairs before it can be deemed roadworthy and registered to be operated on Kansas roads and highways.
Your auto insurance provider can also deem your vehicle a salvage, also known as a total loss. In this instance, you can keep your car and repair it or your auto insurance company can keep it.
Be advised that late model vehicles in Kansas are defined as one with a model year falling within the 6 years before the car was wrecked or damaged.
A non-repairable vehicle is one that is damaged beyond repair. These vehicles have no resale value, except for scrap and parts. In this scenario, you can apply for a non-repairable vehicle certificate using the same process to apply for a salvage title. You must complete the applicable non-repairable sections.
The KS DOR will not remove or reverse a non-repairable certificate, also known as a junk title. Vehicles that have a non-repairable certificate will no longer be eligible for a vehicle title or registration to operate on Kansas roads and any state. In Kansas, junk vehicles can’t be sold as a whole unit. Junk cars must be sold for parts or scraps.
As we previously mentioned, you can keep your car or your auto insurance company can keep the car. You have different options when you’re dealing with a salvaged (total loss) vehicle. Your options depend on who retains ownership of the vehicle.
Let’s discuss both scenarios.
If your auto insurance company keeps the car, this is known as a full settlement. In a full settlement, your auto insurance provider keeps the car and pays you for all the damages. Once your auto insurance company keeps the car, you are no longer liable for anything regarding the car.
If you keep the salvage car, this is known as a partial settlement. Your auto insurance provider will pay you for partial damages and you will be responsible for repairing the car and obtaining a salvage car title to be able to drive the car on Kansas roads and highways again.
Since you’re keeping the car, you can sell it for parts once you apply for a Kansas non-repairable certificate. Remember that you won’t be able to sell the salvage vehicle as a single unit. The vehicle must be dismantled.
In Kansas, to obtain a salvage certificate, as the car owner, you are required to prove your vehicle meets Kansas’ definition of a salvage title car. According to Kansas’ current statutes, vehicles will be considered salvage if the following applies:
- Late model vehicles that sustained damage due to a wreck, flood, fire, or collision, and the damages exceed 74 percent of their market value without the damages.
- An older model vehicle that was damaged to the extent that the vehicle is missing the required equipment to operate safely on public roads to be deemed roadworthy.
- Vehicles that were paid off by an auto insurance company as a total loss, and the insurer obtained the corresponding vehicle title from the owner.
If your vehicle qualifies as a salvage, you must apply for a salvage certificate/title within 60 days once the vehicle has been branded salvaged.
Yes. The actual cash value and replacement cost are two methods your auto insurance provider can use to determine your car’s value if it’s deemed a total loss. The actual cash value (ACV) of your vehicle can change at any time due to the car’s condition, age, and appreciation.
The ACV is the amount equal to the replacement cost minus the depreciation of the vehicle at the time of the loss. The replacement cost is the cost of replacing your vehicle with a brand-new vehicle of the same make, model, and year.
If your vehicle is totaled, the ACV will pay you the current value of your vehicle minus depreciation. The replacement cost will be the full cost of replacing your vehicle with a new one of the same make and model.
You can sell a salvage car in Kansas. However, you are responsible for providing the buyer with the proper paperwork and preparing the vehicle for sale. If you have already reported your vehicle to the KS DOR as a salvage, you can restore the car or receive a rebuilt car title.
To obtain a Kansas salvage title, you must provide proof that your vehicle meets Kansas’ salvage car criteria. After you receive your Kansas salvage title, you can apply for a salvage car title by visiting your county’s treasurer office and completing the Salvage, Non-highway or Non-repairable Vehicle Affidavit (Form TR-13). Make sure that you check the “salvage vehicle” box on the form. You may also required to complete the standard Kansas Title and Registration Manual Application (Form TR-212a).
Be advised that KS state law does NOT require salvage car owners to complete a salvage vehicle inspection to receive a salvage certificate after damaging or wrecking the vehicle. However, if you repaired/rebuilt your vehicle and want to apply for a Kansas rebuilt salvage title, the vehicle must endure a thorough examination.
Avoiding salvage title fraud is easy. However, it’s just as easy to get caught up in salvage title fraud. Since you’re selling a car with a salvage title, this means you have a salvage car. If you’re selling your car, it’s your responsibility to disclose that you’re selling a salvage-branded car.
Disclosing that you’re selling a salvage car could help you avoid issues if the buyer experiences issues with the car after they buy it. In the car’s description, make sure you tell potential buyers the car is a salvage or has a salvage title, and explain the damages. It’s also a good idea to provide a history report. If you can, also provide estimates of repair costs.
You may also want to head to your local KS DOR/DMV branch with the car’s buyer to complete the transfer of the car’s title (ownership transfer). By doing this, you can ensure that the buyer has the necessary legal documentation to transfer ownership, and you will no longer be liable for the vehicle going forward.
Be advised that ANY nondisclosure that could affect the sale of your salvage car, such as not stating that you’re selling a salvage car, could be considered fraud!
Yes and no. The Kansas Bill of Sale (Form TR-312) is required if the car’s title doesn’t have space to provide the printed names and signatures of buyers and sellers, and the purchase price. If you have space to provide the information listed above, you are NOT required to present a bill of sale to transfer the salvage car’s title.
However, we recommend you complete the bill of sale to have a receipt of the transaction and for tax purposes. You can also include other information, such as the car’s odometer reading and the terms related to the sale of the car. A bill of sale can also protect you if the buyer does not register the vehicle or abandons the vehicle later.
In Kansas, you must include the following information on the bill of sale:
- Names and signatures of all buyers and sellers
- Date of sale
- Purchase price
- The vehicle’s:
It is illegal to operate a salvage vehicle on the roads and highways in Kansas. If you want to operate a salvage car, you must repair your car and the car must pass inspection. Once the car passes inspection, you can apply for a rebuilt car title, which allows you to operate the vehicle on Kansas roads and highways again. You’ll have to sell your vehicle for parts. In Kansas, you can’t sell your salvage vehicle as a whole car.
In Kansas, according to the DOR, if your vehicle has a salvage brand, the vehicle is no longer eligible for a car title and can’t be registered to operate on Kansas roads and highways. If you have a non-repairable vehicle, you can apply for a non-repairable certificate, and sell the parts of the vehicle. Keep in mind that you can’t sell the vehicle as a whole unit. You can obtain a salvage title/certificate if your vehicle meets Kansas’ salvage car criteria.
It is also illegal to scrap a vehicle that does NOT belong to you. You are required to submit a car certificate/title or some type of legal documentation that proves you legally own the car.
Selling a salvage vehicle without the car’s registration is not normally required in Kansas. However, if you don’t have the car’s salvage title or salvage certificate with your name on it, you may be able to use the car’s registration card as proof of ownership.
To obtain a salvage car title in Kansas, you must apply for one with the KS DOR. You need to make sure you have a completed Title and Registration Manual Application (Form TR-212a) and a Salvage, Non-highway, or Non-Repairable Affidavit (Form TR-13). You will also need the following:
- The car’s original title
- Any paperwork that outlines the total loss agreement you agreed to with your auto insurance provider
- Payment for all applicable fees
Be advised that salvage title application fees vary, so check with your county treasurer for specifics on what you’ll be required to pay. After you have your salvage car title, you can rebuild the car and apply for a rebuilt Kansas car title. Be advised that the salvage status will remain on the car’s title.
If you receive a rebuilt car title, you can transfer the registration and license plate back to the vehicle after your vehicle passes inspection. You are not required to have auto insurance for a salvaged vehicle because it’s not eligible for Kansas registration and you can’t legally operate it.
If you have questions or concerns about obtaining a salvage car title in Kansas, call the KS DOR’s Division of Vehicles at (785) 296-3621.
Kansas state law does NOT require you to complete a salvage vehicle inspection to receive a salvage certificate after damaging or wrecking your vehicle. However, if you repair/rebuild your vehicle and want to apply for a rebuilt car title, you must have your rebuilt car inspected at a Kansas highway patrol agency.
At the car inspection, you must provide an official document that verifies repairs have been made to your vehicle. You must also submit photos of the car before you repaired it and receipts for the parts that were used to repair your vehicle.
This vehicle examination is performed to determine a rebuilt car’s roadworthiness and the origin of the parts that were used to rebuild it. This vehicle exam is also performed to ensure the vehicle is not stolen and that the parts to rebuild the car were not stolen.
Once your vehicle passes inspection, you can apply for a rebuilt car title at your county treasurer’s office.
The vehicle registration fees in Kansas are based on the vehicle’s weight and type. You may be required to pay additional fees depending on your county, such as an additional $5 for motor vehicle transactions. Other Kansas vehicle registration fees are as follows:
- Passenger vehicles 4,500 lbs. or less: $42.50
- Passenger vehicles that exceed 4,500 lbs.: $52.25
- Vehicle registration late fee: $1 per month
If you have questions or concerns regarding your Kansas registration fee, contact your local county tag office. You can also view the Kansas driver’s license and registration fees and procedures.
No! Even though your vehicle has been deemed a salvage, your salvage car still has value. Salvage titles and junk titles are NOT the same. A salvage title is the title cars are given when a car becomes damaged to the point that the repairs exceed at least 70% of the car’s fair market value. Junk titles, on the other hand, are given to vehicles that are beyond repair. This means junk-titled cars can’t be repaired or driven on roads and highways. The only option you have with a junk-titled car is to sell it to a junkyard or scrap yard.
There are tons of salvage car yards in Kansas. We won’t list all the salvage yards in Kansas, but we will list a handful to get you started.
All Parts Auto Salvage
3501 S. Broadway St.
Wichita, KS 67216
Monday – Friday (8 AM – 5 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
Sandlian Iron & Metal
3059 N. Hoover Rd.
Wichita, KS 67205
Monday – Friday (8 AM – 5 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
Weller Tractor Salvage Inc.
200 SW 40 Ave.
Great Bend, KS 67530
Monday – Friday (7:30 AM – 4 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
B&L Truck & Auto
15469 US Highway 77
Winfield, KS 67156
Open 24 hours
Central Kansas Salvage
230 E. Hwy 40
New Cambria, KS 67470
Monday – Friday (8 AM – 5 PM)
Saturday (8 AM – 12 PM)
Unfortunately, you won’t be able to obtain auto insurance for your salvage vehicle. You must repair your car and it must pass inspection before you can apply for a rebuilt car title. Once you have the rebuilt car title, you can apply for auto insurance.
Getting auto insurance for a rebuilt car will be a lot more difficult than it is when you apply for auto insurance for a car with a clean title. You will not be eligible to obtain full coverage. However, you can get Kansas’ minimum auto coverage, which is enough for you to operate the vehicle on Kansas roads and highways.
Kansas is different from many states when it comes to selling salvage vehicles. In Kansas, you can’t sell a salvage vehicle as a whole vehicle, which means you are only able to sell the vehicle’s parts. You can’t sell the car as-is, or in a private sale.
You can hire a mechanic, unless you can do the job on your own, to help you remove the car’s parts to be sold.
After you’ve repaired your car and it passes the inspection, you can apply for a rebuilt car title. You must complete the following steps to receive your Kansas rebuilt car title:
- Head to a KS Highway Patrol inspection state and have an office do the following:
- Perform a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection on your rebuilt vehicle
- Give you a completed inspection form (also referred to as Form MVE-1)
- Affix a rebuilt salvage decal to your vehicle
- You must pay the $20 KS vehicle inspection fee
Now, you must complete your application for a rebuilt car title by submitting the following at your local KS county treasurer’s office:
- A completed Title and Registration Manual Application (Form TR-212a)
- The MVE-1 form you received for passing the VIN inspection
- Your car’s salvage title
- Proof of a valid auto insurance policy
- Payment for all applicable fees (Kansas rebuilt vehicle titles can vary. Check with your county treasurer for information on the fees you’re required to pay.)
If you need assistance applying for your Kansas rebuilt car title, call the Division of Vehicles at (785) 296-3621.
Once you apply for and submit your Kansas rebuilt car title, it can take at least 40 days for you to receive your title. The sooner you make the necessary repairs to your vehicle and it passes inspection, the sooner you can apply for your rebuilt car title!