Arkansas Car Insurance

Arkansas is the “Land of Opportunity,” so it’s no wonder the state continually sees an influx of transplants year over year. If you’re one of the many Americans looking for opportunities in the state known for Hot Springs, the Buffalo National River, and Bill Clinton, you’ll need to learn about Arkansas car insurance.

Arkansas Car Insurance Minimum Coverage

Compared to other, more populated states, Arkansas laws for car insurance are fairly lax. Drivers who wish to drive or register a vehicle in the state must carry the following coverage:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 in coverage for property damage per accident

That’s all there is to it. You do not need to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist car insurance in Arkansas, and comprehensive and full collision coverages are also unnecessary. Of course, you may wish to spend a little extra each year to ensure your vehicle is protected in the event of an accident.

What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Arkansas?

Full coverage Arkansas car insurance averages about $1,169 per year for full coverage. If you’re opting for just the minimum coverage, you can expect to pay significantly less.

Age, driving history, and other factors considered, however, auto insurance premiums in Arkansas usually ends up costing amounts right on par with the national average. Good drivers may pay significantly less than the average while young drivers or those with accidents on their record will almost invariably pay more.

Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in Arkansas?

Arkansas car insurance is inexpensive because there are just fewer drivers on the road. Arkansas is the 34th most populous state in the nation. There are fewer people in Arkansas than there are in the small territory of Puerto Rico!

That said, there are 17 annual auto-related deaths per 100,000 people in Arkansas as compared to the national average of 10 per 100,000. This growing number of auto deaths is causing a gradual rise in Arkansas insurance premiums.

Lapses in Arkansas Car Insurance

If you’ve ever been caught driving without insurance in another state, you may be surprised to learn just how lenient law enforcement is in Arkansas.

As you know, you’re required to carry a minimum amount of insurance on your vehicle in Arkansas. But if you are stopped by law enforcement and are unable to prove proof of your insurance, you’re offered a sort of “second chance.”

The officer may revoke your tags, issuing a receipt for them. You may then be automatically granted a temporary bumper sticker that allows you to drive legally for ten days.

Within those ten days, you must submit proof of insurance. Many insurance carriers will allow you to reinstate insurance coverage “without a lapse” – ask your agent if this is possible. If you’re able to provide proof of insurance, the fine of up to $250 will be waived and your tags will be returned to you with no financial penalty.

This procedure applies to your first and second offenses. Third and subsequent offenses will mean larger fines, and you may be imprisoned for a full year.

Best Auto Insurance in Arkansas

Drivers in Arkansas were polled to determine which auto insurance carriers were best in the state. Factors for rating included customer service, coverage options, and price. The following five car insurance companies consistently ranked best in all areas:

  • Esurance
  • The General
  • National General
  • Direct
  • State Farm

As you shop for your own policy, be sure to check out coverage and pricing options that fit your lifestyle and your budget. No one policy is best for everyone, so do your research before you purchase a policy.

Driving in Arkansas

Interested to learn more about driving in the state of Arkansas? Here are some facts you may find interesting about driving in The Natural State.

  • You are not allowed to enter and leave a drive-in restaurant without parking unless there are no spaces available.
  • It is against the law for the Arkansas River to rise higher than Little Rock’s Main Street Bridge.
  • If it’s past 9 PM and you honk your horn at an establishment that serves cold drinks, you could be cited.
  • Kids acting extra salty? It’s against the law to yell at them at a drive-through in Arkansas.

Conclusion: Auto Insurance in Arkansas

Arkansas car insurance laws aren’t as strict as some other states in the country. While some states assess penalties of thousands of dollars, law enforcement in the Land of Opportunity will give you a second chance to get appropriate coverage.

That having been said, it’s important that you maintain your insurance policy to avoid potential fines, license suspensions, and even jail time. Even Arkansans can face heavy fines if they continually disregard the state’s insurance laws.

Can You Buy A Car From A Junkyard

The short answer: Yes, you can buy a car from ...
Read More

How To Tell If A Junkyard Motor Is Good

You have just discovered that your car needs a new ...
Read More

How Much Do Junkyards Pay for Cars?

Cars are amongst the most recycled products in the world. ...
Read More

How Do Junkyards Work?

Maybe you are a collector or want to cut costs ...
Read More

How To Find Parts at a Junkyard

Whether you’re looking for parts at a junkyard because you ...
Read More

Should I Sell Or Donate My Car?

If you have a junk car that needs to be ...
Read More

What Car Parts Will a Junkyard Buy?

If you want to dispose of your junk car, you ...
Read More

Car Donation Tax Deductions

Car donation tax deductions sound complex and discourage many people ...
Read More