Connecticut is a small state packed with a wealth of history. The Constitution State is famous for Mystic and its whaling history as well as ESPN and Subway restaurants, and 446 miles of interstate highway span the land.
In order to register your vehicle and drive legally in Connecticut, you’ll need the proper insurance. Through this guide, you’ll learn everything you need to know about Connecticut car insurance.
Connecticut Car Insurance Minimum Coverage
Before you register your car in Connecticut, you need to provide proof of insurance. The minimum coverage required by the state is as follows:
- You’ll need $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage.
- Property damage liability coverage must be at least $25,000 per accident, and
- You must be covered for $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident against uninsured and underinsured motorists.
The state minimums are on par with national requirements; most states will require similar insurance coverage in order to legally drive a car.
Keep in mind that there are other insurance options available to you. You can elect for comprehensive coverage, collision coverage, towing and roadside assistance and even rental reimbursement. Talk to your agent about an insurance package that works well for you.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Connecticut?
If you’re moving to Connecticut, there’s a good chance your insurance premiums will increase. The average cost of insurance in the state of Connecticut is around $1,672 for full coverage or $854 for the minimum.
The national average, by contrast, is about $1,500 per year or $600 annually for full and minimum coverage respectively. There are several reasons Connecticut car insurance is so expensive despite the low minimum requirements. Let’s take a look at why you’ll pay more for your premiums in Connecticut.
Why is Car Insurance So Expensive in Connecticut?
Connecticut is an affluent state. You’ll find quite a few rich folk over there, whether they’re sporting old money or new. As such, you’ll also find many expensive vehicles in the state of Connecticut. Not everyone drives a Lamborghini, but the cars are generally a little pricier than the average.
The good news is that the crime rate in the Constitution State is much lower than the national average. The probability that you’ll be a victim of vandalism or theft is statistically low–much lower than even neighboring states.
Lapses in Connecticut Car Insurance
As with most other states, you must maintain coverage on your vehicle in order to avoid trouble with the legal system. Should your vehicle insurance lapse, the Department of Motor Vehicles will be notified and you will be assessed a $200 fine. You’ll also be required to purchase or reinstate insurance.
If you ignore the notice that is sent to you, your vehicle’s registration will be suspended. You may also be prevented from registering any other car or truck in the state until the situation is resolved.
Best Auto Insurance in Connecticut
Connecticut drivers were asked which insurance carriers offered the best rates, service, and coverage. According to polling, these five companies were rated the best for Connecticut car insurance:
- State Farm
USAA auto insurance is only available to servicemembers and their families. The other four insurers are available to anyone who is interested.
Remember, no single insurance policy is right for everyone. Shop around for the best rates and coverage for your specific needs. You may also qualify for discounts based on your driving record, your affiliations, or even your employer.
Driving in Connecticut
Are you ready to pack your bags and move to the historic state of Connecticut? Here are some facts you might like to know about the state before you go.
- It’s illegal to ride your bike more than 65 miles per hour on Connecticut roads.
- In Bloomfield, Connecticut, it’s not legal to eat in your car.
- If you’re caught texting while you drive in Connecticut, you’ll face a $150 fine for your first offense. Your second offense will cost you $300 and your third and subsequent offenses are $500 each. Don’t text and drive!
- It’s not legal to carry any loaded firearm in your car in the state of Connecticut.
Conclusion: Auto Insurance in Connecticut
Connecticut is a beautiful little state known for its wealth and its history. If you plan to move to the Nutmeg State, you’ll need to properly insure your car first. Chat with an insurance agent about the policy that’s best for you, then enjoy the sights in this gorgeous coastal state!