Maryland Car Insurance

Known for fishing, mining, and an abundance of blue crabs, Maryland is one of the most picturesque states on the east coast. If you’re planning to register a car in Maryland, you’ll need to know about Maryland car insurance.

In this guide, we’ll talk about the requirements for minimum coverage auto insurance in the Old Line State, which carrier has the best policy, and what happens if your car insurance lapses while you’re in Maryland.

Auto Insurance in Maryland: Minimum Coverage

Maryland law requires that drivers carry two types of insurance: bodily injury and property damage liability. There is no requirement for drivers in Maryland to purchase a policy to protect against uninsured motorists.

To register a vehicle in Maryland, you must have $30,000 per person and $60,000 for two or more people in coverage for bodily injury. You must also have $15,000 in coverage for property damage.

These minimum coverage requirements are fairly standard for the United States, with the exception that many states do require uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. For that reason, Maryland car insurance is about $300 per year lower than the national average.

What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Maryland?

The average driver will typically pay about $1,240 per year in insurance. That’s for the minimum coverage; should you choose to purchase a more comprehensive policy; your rates will be higher.

Be sure to check around to determine which insurance provider has the lowest rates and the best service according to your needs. You may also be eligible for Maryland car insurance discounts through your employer or another association.

Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in Maryland?

Maryland car insurance is inexpensive due to its low minimum coverage requirements. Because you are not required to carry comprehensive insurance or uninsured motorist coverage, your monthly premiums are lower than other states are.

If you’re moving to Maryland or purchasing a vehicle there, prepare to pay car insurance premiums that are about equivalent to the national average for minimum coverage.

Lapses in Maryland Car Insurance

After you select an auto insurance policy, it’s important to maintain coverage with no lapses. Failure to remain continuously insured can lead to legal consequences that are both costly and inconvenient.

If you are stopped by law enforcement and determined to not have current insurance, you will be assessed a fine of $150 for the first 30 days of your lapse and $7 for each additional day. The annual maximum fine is $2,500 per vehicle.

Additionally, your registration will be suspended. You will be unable to drive your vehicle; if you do your car could be impounded. There are additional fees you must pay to reinstate your registration. In some cases, your tags may be seized which adds additional fines to the total!

In short, keep your insurance current in order to avoid legal ramifications.

Best Auto Insurance in Maryland

According to Maryland drivers, there are five insurance companies that consistently perform well in terms of service, coverage and cost. They are:

  • GEICO
  • Progressive
  • State Farm
  • USAA
  • Allstate

Please note that USAA insurance is not available to all drivers. Members of USAA have served in the armed forces or are a family member of someone who served.

Shop around for the best insurance for your needs. The rate you pay each month or year will depend on your credit, age, sex, driving history, vehicle, and more. Young drivers will typically pay higher premiums, and the same is try seniors. Married couples tend to pay less for auto insurance than unmarried people.

Your coverage options will also impact the price that you pay, and the basic minimum coverage is a lot cheaper than a comprehensive policy.

Facts About Maryland Car Insurance

Want to learn a few facts about driving in Maryland? Here’s some Maryland driving trivia.

  • In Maryland, all front seat passengers and all back seat passengers under 16 must wear a seatbelt. If they don’t, the driver will be ticketed.
  • It’s illegal to text while driving in Maryland, and phones may only be used hands-free while driving.
  • If it’s raining, drivers must turn on their headlights. This is true any time the windshield wipers are in use.
  • There are 32,422 miles of road in Maryland, and around 12% are considered “not acceptable.” Of Maryland’s 5,305 bridges, 27% are considered structurally deficient or “functionally obsolete.” Be careful out there!

Conclusion: Car Insurance in Maryland

Maryland car insurance is reasonably priced compared to the national average. However, the condition of the roadways in the state may warrant additional coverage. Wear and tear on your vehicle due to poorly maintained roadways can get expensive; consider an auto insurance policy with higher coverage limits to offset this.

Can You Buy A Car From A Junkyard

The short answer: Yes, you can buy a car from ...
Read More

How To Tell If A Junkyard Motor Is Good

You have just discovered that your car needs a new ...
Read More

How Much Do Junkyards Pay for Cars?

Cars are amongst the most recycled products in the world. ...
Read More

How Do Junkyards Work?

Maybe you are a collector or want to cut costs ...
Read More

How To Find Parts at a Junkyard

Whether you’re looking for parts at a junkyard because you ...
Read More

Should I Sell Or Donate My Car?

If you have a junk car that needs to be ...
Read More

What Car Parts Will a Junkyard Buy?

If you want to dispose of your junk car, you ...
Read More

Car Donation Tax Deductions

Car donation tax deductions sound complex and discourage many people ...
Read More