Nevada Car Insurance

Nevada is best known for Las Vegas and the nightlife there. But traveling outside the Las Vegas city limits, you’ll find plenty to explore, as well. Ghost towns, steam trains, and the Hoover Dam all call Nevada home.

If you’re thinking of moving to Nevada, or you already live in the Silver State, you’ll need to legally register your vehicle. In this guide, we’ll discuss Nevada car insurance requirements and what you need to know to drive legally in the Battle Born State.

Nevada Car Insurance Minimum Coverage

In order to legally operate a motor vehicle in Nevada, you’ll need the following insurance coverage:

  • Bodily injury liability protection: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability protection: $50,000
  • Uninsured motorist protection: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident

Remember that these are just the minimums. If you feel that you need more insurance coverage, talk to your agent about your policy. You can add comprehensive, collision, roadside assistance, and other protections.

Your car insurance requirements may also be higher if you’re financing your vehicle. Be sure to check with the lienholder to determine what’s necessary.

What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance Coverage in Nevada?

Drivers in Nevada can expect to pay more than the national average for their car insurance. Drivers who opt for full coverage will pay $1,802 per year on average. For minimum coverage, the average cost for your annual premium will range from $697 to $860.

The difference in the rates will depend heavily upon where you live. More rural areas are likely to have lower premiums. Living in more densely populated areas like Reno and Las Vegas will usually mean a higher monthly or annual premium.

Why is Car Insurance So Expensive in Nevada?

There are quite a few reasons why Nevada car insurance is so expensive. First, the state has very relaxed alcohol laws. Open container laws are more lax than in other states, and bars can stay open 24 hours, every day.

You’re also going to find quite a few “fancy” cars in Nevada. Because there are more luxury vehicles, insurance premiums are higher.

Finally, there are simply areas of Nevada that have a notoriously high-crime rate. Your car is more likely to be vandalized or stolen if you live in these areas. Therefore, insurers must charge more for your auto insurance.

Lapses in Nevada Car Insurance

If you’re stopped by law enforcement and can’t prove you have Nevada car insurance, what happens?

Well, that depends on how long your insurance has lapsed. If it’s been less than a month, you may owe the state nothing at all. Your license may be suspended until you can prove that you’re legally insured.

If you’ve not been insured for 31 to 90 days, you’ll have to pay $250. For 91 to 180 days, the fine is $500. Been insured for over $181 days? You’ll pay a hefty $1,000 fine.

In addition to the fines, your license and registration will be suspended. You will need to have your insurer provide a form SR-22 (for high-risk drivers) and maintain it for three years.

Best Auto Insurance in Nevada

If you’re shopping around for Nevada car insurance, you may be interested to hear what the locals think. According to polls of Nevada drivers, the best auto insurance in the state is through the following companies:

  • GEICO
  • Nationwide
  • Country Financial
  • State Farm
  • Progressive

Everyone has differing insurance needs. Shop around and talk to multiple agents to determine which company best suits your needs.

Driving in Nevada

When you’re ready to hit the road in the state of Nevada, there are a few facts you can ponder while you drive. Here are some fun facts about driving and the roadways in the Sagebrush State.

  • It’s illegal to drive a camel on the highway in the state of Nevada. Incidentally, May is Prehistoric Camel Awareness Month in Nevada.
  • Many traffic infractions in the state of Nevada are considered misdemeanors and may end up on your permanent criminal record.
  • There are very specific amounts of drugs you can legally have in your system and still drive in Nevada.
  • In Reno, it’s illegal for a bench to be placed in the middle of the street.

Conclusion: Nevada Car Insurance

Nevada is the land of casinos and ghost towns, and there’s a lot to see across the state. In order to drive legally, you must carry insurance on your vehicle. Be sure your coverage meets the minimum requirements and is up to date to avoid legal trouble in the Sagebrush State.

Can You Buy A Car From A Junkyard

The short answer: Yes, you can buy a car from ...
Read More

How To Tell If A Junkyard Motor Is Good

You have just discovered that your car needs a new ...
Read More

How Much Do Junkyards Pay for Cars?

Cars are amongst the most recycled products in the world. ...
Read More

How Do Junkyards Work?

Maybe you are a collector or want to cut costs ...
Read More

How To Find Parts at a Junkyard

Whether you’re looking for parts at a junkyard because you ...
Read More

Should I Sell Or Donate My Car?

If you have a junk car that needs to be ...
Read More

What Car Parts Will a Junkyard Buy?

If you want to dispose of your junk car, you ...
Read More

Car Donation Tax Deductions

Car donation tax deductions sound complex and discourage many people ...
Read More