If you own or drive a car, you’ll need car insurance in North Carolina. As you shop around for auto insurance quotes, you’ll notice that there are many coverage options available to you. What do you need? What should you purchase? In this guide, we’ll cover what you need to know about insuring a car in North Carolina.
North Carolina Car Insurance Minimum Coverage
Every car operated on public roadways must be covered by specific minimum insurance. North Carolina requires four types of coverages. They are as follows:
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist property damage: You must be covered for a minimum of $25,000. This covers you if you’re in an accident and the at-fault driver does not have the necessary insurance to pay for property damages.
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury: If you’re in an accident and the other driver is uninsured, bodily injury liability will cover your medical expenses. North Carolina requires coverage of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability coverage: You must be insured for $25,000 in case of property damage in the event of an accident.
- Bodily injury liability coverage: You must be insured for $30,000 bodily injury liability per person and $60,000 per accident.
Most car insurance carriers will make this process easy for you, as you will not be permitted to accept coverages lower than those stated above.
Car Insurance Cost in NC
The price you pay for your car insurance in North Carolina will depend upon four factors:
- Your driving history
- Your credit
- The car insurance company you choose
- The type of coverage you choose
Sometimes, your age and marital status can impact your insurance cost, as well. Young drivers will generally pay more than those of middle age and seniors will also likely pay more than the average 40 to 60-year-old. Make sure you ask your representative if this is the case.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in North Carolina?
The average cost of car insurance in North Carolina is $865 per year. This is lower than many other states, with the national average being $1,674 per year!
To save the most money on car insurance, choose the minimum coverage you think you’ll need to protect yourself. Let your insurer know of any affiliations you have, such as AAA or AARP. Finally, be sure to keep your driving record clean! Accidents and “points” on your record are a sure way to raise the cost of your insurance premiums.
Insuring Young Drivers in North Carolina
If your teen is just learning to drive or has only just earned their license, you’ll need to explore auto insurance options for them. Typically, you can add young drivers to existing policies. This is usually the easiest way to cover your child, and it's often the cheapest, as well.
If your teen owns their own car, however, you may need to purchase a policy for them. The state minimum coverages still apply in relation to motorist bodily injury and property damage, but you may find that your teen’s policy is more expensive than your own.
Car insurance for boys will generally cost more than car insurance for girls The best way to keep your insurance costs down are to enroll your teen in a young drivers’ education class and ensure that they follow all road laws. An older car may also bring down the cost of your monthly or annual insurance premiums.
Choosing North Carolina Car Insurance
There are dozens of car insurance companies that will insure cars in North Carolina. Which should you choose?
Well, according to polls, there are five insurance companies that consistently rank high in affordability and customer satisfaction. The top-ranked insurance companies in North Carolina are:
- State Farm
- North Carolina Farm Bureau
The insurer you choose will depend upon your personal preference and coverage desires. You may wish to carry insurance through your existing financial institution, or with a provider that offers discounts based on your affiliations or your employer.
Be sure to check out reviews of insurance providers online and ask friends for their recommendations. Just because an insurer offers the most affordable rates doesn’t mean it’s the best insurance provider!
Conclusion: North Carolina Car Insurance
All drivers and vehicles in North Carolina must carry car insurance. Failure to do so may result in fines and even the seizure of your car’s license plate! Fortunately, NC is one of the most affordable states for car insurance. You can fully insure yourself and your vehicle for as little as $25 per month.
Choose a carrier that you’re comfortable with and that offers the options you most desire for your vehicle’s coverage. Be sure to carry proof of insurance with you at all times while you’re driving to avoid tickets and potential fines.