North Dakota Car Insurance

Known for its wheat fields, chokeberries, and only one area code, but also home to Enchanted Highways and scenic byways, North Dakota is the heart of the Midwest. If you’re planning to move to or register a car in the 701, you’ll need to make sure you have the right auto coverage.

In this guide, we’ll explore everything you need to know about North Dakota car insurance and staying street legal while you explore the state.

North Dakota Car Insurance Minimum Coverage

The vast majority of American states require some form of auto insurance for each of the drivers registered there. North Dakota car insurance is no exception. In order to register and legally drive a car in the state, you’ll need to have:

  • Bodily injury liability protection: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property damage insurance: $25,000 per accident.
  • Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP): $150 per week, maximum of $30,000.

As you can see, some of the coverages (such as personal injury protection structure) are a bit different than other states. But does that mean insurance in the 701 is higher than in other areas of the country? Let’s take a look.

What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in North Dakota?

If you’re an “average” driver with a decent credit rating and a safe driving record, you can expect to pay around $1,230 per year for full auto insurance coverage in North Dakota.

That’s pretty low compared to other states in the US. In fact, it’s almost 14% less than the national average.

Don’t forget that this is the average price for full coverage. If you choose only the minimum insurance coverage, your rates will likely be lower. Ask your insurance agent, also, for discounts you may be eligible for. Your employer, educator, or other association you belong to could qualify you for lower rates.

Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in North Dakota?

North Dakota is one of the only states that still have the original area code assigned by AT&T in the 1940s. That’s because the state has such a tiny population with respect to its size. In North Dakota, there are only 11 residents per square mile.

A small population means fewer drivers on the road. That translates to a lower probability of accidents and less money paid out by insurers. Most of the state is very rural, as well. Heavy traffic is almost unheard of in the state, and North Dakota has the fourth-lowest occurrence of fatal accidents in the nation.

Lapses in North Dakota Car Insurance

North Dakota car insurance is cheap. But the penalties for driving without it are not. If you’re stopped by law enforcement and can’t prove you are insured, you could have your license suspended or revoked. You also may find yourself paying up to $5,000 in fines.

What’s worse, if you’re caught driving without proof of insurance twice within a year, your tags can be revoked and you could even face up to a month in jail. To put it simply, it’s best to just cover your car with North Dakota car insurance.

Best Auto Insurance in North Dakota

Drivers in North Dakota were asked which insurance company was best in terms of coverage, service, and affordability. The following five insurance companies ranked consistently best:

  • USAA
  • Nodak Mutual
  • GEICO
  • AAA
  • State Farm

As we mentioned, be sure to do your shopping for your North Dakota car insurance. Your agent may be able to find you discounts you weren’t aware of. Additionally, the coverage that works well for one driver may be more (or less) than you need for your peace of mind.

Driving in North Dakota

Ready to hit the North Dakota roads in your insured vehicle? Here are a few fun facts about the state to think about while you’re driving the highways.

  • It’s against the law to put a penny in a parking meter in North Dakota, so bring your big change. Better yet, pay by debit card.
  • It’s legal to eat and drive in North Dakota, but don’t get in an accident. That hamburger can cost you an additional distracted driving charge.
  • It’s legal to drive with no shoes on in the state of North Dakota.

Conclusion: Car Insurance in North Dakota

North Dakota’s small population and brilliant scenery make it a popular state for “transplants.” Make sure you’re legally able to drive in the state and are carrying at least the minimum North Dakota car insurance.

Can You Buy A Car From A Junkyard

The short answer: Yes, you can buy a car from ...
Read More

How To Tell If A Junkyard Motor Is Good

You have just discovered that your car needs a new ...
Read More

How Much Do Junkyards Pay for Cars?

Cars are amongst the most recycled products in the world. ...
Read More

How Do Junkyards Work?

Maybe you are a collector or want to cut costs ...
Read More

How To Find Parts at a Junkyard

Whether you’re looking for parts at a junkyard because you ...
Read More

Should I Sell Or Donate My Car?

If you have a junk car that needs to be ...
Read More

What Car Parts Will a Junkyard Buy?

If you want to dispose of your junk car, you ...
Read More

Car Donation Tax Deductions

Car donation tax deductions sound complex and discourage many people ...
Read More