You may know of Rhode Island as the tiniest state in the nation, but it’s a state that’s certainly got a lot of history! From whaling towns to Newport, Rhode Island is a must-see vacation destination. Don’t forget to stop into a local restaurant for some Rhode Island-style calamari!
If you’re moving to the Ocean State, you’ll need to register your vehicle. Here’s what you need to know about the car insurance requirements in the state of Rhode Island.
Rhode Island Car Insurance Minimum Coverage
For a little state, Rhode Island has some big insurance requirements. Drivers operating a motor vehicle in the state of Rhode Island are required to have:
- Bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability insurance of $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident and
- Uninsured motorist property damage of $25,000 per accident
Note that these are just the minimum requirements for car insurance in Rhode Island. You may opt for higher coverage levels and limits, or additional services such as roadside assistance and rental car reimbursement.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island car insurance costs more than the national average by about 26%. If you’re insuring a vehicle in Rhode Island, you can expect to pay around $1,873 per year. Of course, that amount could be higher depending upon the coverage you select.
There are quite a few factors that can impact the amount you pay for your insurance premiums. These include:
- Your gender
- Your marital status
- Your credit
- Your driving history
- Your age
- The type of vehicle you drive
- The zip code where you park your car
As you shop for Rhode Island car insurance, be sure to ask your agent about available discounts. You could be eligible for a lower rate based on your alma mater, your financial institution, or even your employer.
Why is Car Insurance So Expensive in Rhode Island?
There’s no getting around it, Rhode Island car insurance is expensive! What makes premiums in the state so high? There are several factors.
First, more and more people are hitting the road in Rhode Island, and many of those people are uninsured. Unfortunately, it’s those drivers who play by the rules who have to make up for this added expense.
Secondly, the cost of healthcare is getting higher. As insurance companies pay out more money to hospitals, your premiums increase.
Finally, Rhode Island (as with most states) is experiencing more severe weather than ever before. Unexpected damage to vehicles is becoming more frequent as the climate changes. This means insurance companies are paying out more, and thus are increasing your premiums.
Lapses in Rhode Island Car Insurance
Don’t get caught driving in Rhode Island without insurance. If you do, you could face fines up to $500. Your license and registration may be suspended for up to three months. And those consequences get worse and worse with subsequent offenses.
To avoid this hassle, keep your insurance policy paid and up to date. Periodically check with your insurer to be sure you have all required minimums covered by your policy.
Best Auto Insurance in Rhode Island
Rhode Island drivers were surveyed to discover their favorite auto insurance companies. For those drivers with clean driving history, the best insurance companies were as follows:
- State Farm
Keep in mind that your experience and needs may be different from these drivers’. Be sure to shop around for the best policy that suits your needs and your driving habits.
Facts About Rhode Island Car Insurance
Want to know more about driving and insurance in Rhode Island? Here are some facts about driving in the country’s smallest state.
- Rhode Island is one of the most dangerous states in the country for alcohol-related auto accidents.
- The state of Rhode Island covers 1,045 square miles and has 6,052 miles of public roadways.
- 82.4% of Rhode Islanders commute to work alone, while 10.1% carpool to work. Only 2.1% use public transportation.
- Riding a horse on the highway in order to test its speed is illegal in Rhode Island.
- It’s illegal to put your car in neutral and coast downhill in the state.
Conclusion: Car Insurance in Rhode Island
Rhode Island may be small, but the state has some hefty insurance requirements. Be sure to maintain coverage of at least the minimum insurance when you drive. Failure to do so could result in some heavy fines and even the suspension of your license and registration.