Washington State is a popular tourist destination for Americans and global travelers. The city of Seattle, the gorgeous mountain ranges, and its rainy climate make this one of the most unique states in the US.
If you’re thinking of making Washington your home–or your second home–you’ll need to know what is required to legally drive in the state. In this guide, we’ll explore Washington car insurance and how you can properly cover your vehicle.
Washington Car Insurance Minimum Coverage
The Evergreen State is very clear in its requirements for car insurance. In order to register your car or truck in the state of Washington, you’ll need to have at least these minimum insurance coverages:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability coverage: $10,000.
- Personal injury protection: $10,000 per accident
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Underinsured property damage coverage: $10,000 per accident.
Note that these are just the minimum requirements. Should you choose to cover your vehicle more comprehensively, you may also choose collision, towing, and other coverages.
Talk to your car insurance agent about what’s right for you and your driving habits.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Washington?
In Washington, the average driver can expect to pay around $1,160 per year for car insurance. This is around 19% lower than the national average. For minimum coverage, you can expect to pay around $600.
Remember that your rates will vary depending upon a number of factors. First, your driving history and your credit will play a big role in determining how much your premiums will cost. Additionally, car insurance companies will look at the following:
- Your age
- Your sex
- Your marital status
- The zip code where you park your car
Shop around to find the best rates for car insurance, and don’t forget to look for discounts you may be eligible for.
Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in Washington?
The price you pay for Washington car insurance will depend on many factors. But overall, your rates will be cheaper than other states due to several factors.
First, in rural areas, there are fewer drivers on the road. This means savings for you because of fewer traffic incidents and accidents.
Secondly, auto repairs in Washington tend to cost less than in some other states. This means car insurance companies are paying out less for repairs, and then passing the savings along to you.
Despite low car insurance rates, you may see your premiums increasing in the state of Washington. As more weather events and wildfires occur, your vehicle will be at higher risk for damage. It’s possible you’ll see this reflected in your insurance bill.
Lapses in Washington Car Insurance
Most drivers in Washington carry car insurance. If you’re stopped by law enforcement and can’t prove you have coverage, you may be subject to fines.
You’ll face a minimum fine of $450 for driving without insurance. You may face additional fines for any traffic infractions you’ve committed. Finally, if you’re found to be at fault in an accident, you may be held liable for the cost of property and other damages.
Carrying insurance on your vehicle at all times will help ensure you stay out of legal trouble. Be sure to keep proof with you in case of a traffic stop.
Best Auto Insurance in Washington
Washington drivers were polled to determine the “favorite” car insurance companies in the state. Insurers were rated with cost, coverage, and service in mind. These five insurance companies consistently ranked highly.
- State Farm
Shop around for the best insurance company to fit your needs. You may find discounts that will help bring down your monthly or annual premiums, too, so be sure to talk to several agents about available options.
Driving in Washington
Are you ready to register your vehicle in the Evergreen State? Here are some fun things you may find interesting about driving in the state of Washington.
- It’s illegal to carry a fish bowl onto a bus in Washington–the sloshing sound may annoy other passengers.
- Have criminal intentions? You must phone the cops and let them know what you’re up to before you cross city limits.
- It’s illegal to hug someone while you’re driving.
- It’s required to use your turn signals for at least 100 feet before changing lanes on the highway.
Conclusion: Washington Car Insurance
Whether you’re new to Washington or a native of the Evergreen State, it’s important that you carry the proper insurance on your vehicle. Failure to do so can result in some hefty fines, so be sure your insurance is up to date!