“Take me home, country roads…” If you’ve dreamed of making West Virginia your home, and want to drive those country roads, you’re going to need West Virginia car insurance.
Like other states, West Virginia requires that drivers carry minimum insurance on their vehicles. If you’re planning to register a car in The Mountain State, read this guide to insuring your car.
West Virginia Car Insurance Minimum Requirements
Before you register a car or truck in West Virginia, you’re going to need to prove you can auto insurance. The minimum coverages required are as follows:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Property damage liability coverage: $25,000 per accident.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
- Uninsured motorist property damage: $25,000 per accident.
If you’ve ever had to buy insurance in another state, you will know that these requirements are fairly standard for car insurance. Remember, though, that these are just the minimums. You can opt to protect yourself with full coverage or elect to add towing, roadside assistance, and other a la carte options.
What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in West Virginia?
West Virginia drivers pay around the national average for their full coverage car insurance. You can expect your premiums to be, on average, about $1,378 per year. That’s just over 3% less than what the average American pays.
Minimum coverage will cost you less. The average in the state is approximately $495. Again, it’s on par with the national average.
Certain factors may impact your car insurance costs. Your age, sex, zip code, marital status, credit score, and driving record can greatly affect how much you pay for your West Virginia car insurance premiums.
Why is Car Insurance So Cheap in West Virginia?
West Virginia car insurance is really neither cheap nor is it expensive. When compared with what most Americans pay, Mountain State insurance costs are expected.
West Virginia has predictable weather; there are few hurricanes, floods, or tornadoes in the state. There is adequate snowfall to cause ice-related accidents, however, which may raise your premiums.
Crime in West Virginia is very low. In fact, the state’s property crime rate is about 25% less than the national average. Your vehicle isn’t likely to be stolen or vandalized in the state, meaning insurance companies can lower insurance costs.
Finally, despite factors bringing your premiums down, the costs of car repairs and healthcare are rising. Because insurers are paying out more for these costs, the additional costs may reflect in your premiums.
Lapses in West Virginia Car Insurance
If you’re caught driving without auto insurance in West Virginia, it’s considered a misdemeanor. You can face fines, jail time, and a crime on your permanent record if you don’t resolve the matter with the court.
For your first offense, you can be penalized $200 to $5,000 dollars, depending on the nature of the ticket. If you were involved in an accident, you’ll likely face a higher fine.
In addition to fines and potential jail time, your license and registration can be suspended. It will cost you additional money to reinstate those privileges.
To avoid penalties that are expensive and costly, be sure your West Virginia car insurance is up to date and meets the state requirements.
Best Auto Insurance in West Virginia
West Virginians were surveyed to determine the best auto insurance companies in the state. The following five insurers ranked best in class for affordability, coverage options, and customer service:
- State Farm
Before you purchase car insurance, be sure to check with your agent about discounts you may be eligible for. Your employer, associations like AARP or AAA, or even your driving history can qualify you for a discount on your auto insurance.
Driving in West Virginia
When you’re ready to start exploring West Virginia, you may be interested to know more about driving in the state. Here are a few fun facts about navigating the roadways in the Mountain State.
- You may legally take home roadkill and cook it for your dinner. Yum!
- Road rage? Anyone caught swearing in public can be fined a dollar.
- At one point, it was illegal to leave your home in a vehicle without a destination in mind. Nowadays, you can wander freely.
- It’s not illegal to drive barefoot in West Virginia, but shoes are strongly encouraged.
Conclusion: Car Insurance in West Virginia
West Virginia is famous for its country roads, but if you want to explore them you’ll need proper car insurance. Be sure your insurance policy is paid and up to date to avoid high fines and possible jail time.