Welcome to the Evergreen state! It seems like it’s time to junk a car! People junk their cars more than most people realize. Some cars are junked because of mechanical failure, accident damage, or expensive repair costs. Regardless of the reason, here’s what you need to know about junking a car in the state of Washington.
How Do I Sell My Car to a Junkyard in Washington State
Selling your car to a junkyard in Washington doesn’t have to be a daunting task if you don’t make it one, especially if you use the internet for help. Type the term “junkyards near me”. Once you hit enter, you have the junkyard world at your fingertips.
Next, you need to choose a junkyard. Check out the websites and choose a junkyard that fits your needs. Some Washington junkyards will require more information than others. Standard information that will be asked is your vehicle’s make, model, and year. You will also need to provide the vehicle’s identification number (VIN).
After you provide the VIN, you may be asked to provide other information about your car, such as the damage it may have sustained. Believe it or not, not all cars that are considered “junk” are beat-up pieces of metal. Your car may have internal issues that prevent the car from maintaining proper functionality.
You’ve provided the required information and are ready to proceed to the next steps. Now you will be provided with a quote. Whether you accept or decline the quote is up to you. You are not obligated to accept the quote. If you’re not satisfied with the quote, you can always check out another junkyard. If all is well, and you’re fine with the junk car quote, you can schedule to drop off the car at the junkyard or have the car towed to the junkyard.
Junk Car Removal Companies That Buy Unwanted Vehicles In Washington State
You can get a free offer for your running, non-running, and/or totaled car online or by phone. These national services buy junk cars across the country including Washington state. Contact them for a free, no-obligation offer to see now much you can get for your car.
- Peddle or call them at (844) 334-0582
- Wheelzy or call them at (855) 602-2139
- CarBrain or call them at (877) 877-7911
Junk Car Removal Service Locations In Washington State
Get cash for your junk car when you sell it in Washington State including in the following locations:
- Seattle, WA
- Spokane, WA
- Tacoma, WA
- Vancouver, WA
- Bellevue, WA
- Kent, WA
- Everett, WA
- Renton, WA
- Spokane Valley, WA
- Federal Way, WA
How Much A Junk Car Is Worth In Washington State
You can sell your junk car in Washington State for a few $200 to $500 in many cases. Sometimes you can sell a damaged car for about a thousand dollars depending on its market value.
|Cadillac||Deville||2005||Seattle, WA||$ 315|
|Kia||Sorento||2004||Spokane, WA||$ 435|
|Hyundai||Santa Fe||2001||Tacoma, WA||$ 570|
|Jeep||Grand Cherokee||1996||Vancouver, WA||$ 385|
|Saturn||Vue||2007||Bellevue, WA||$ 375|
|Toyota||Rav4||1996||Kent, WA||$ 175|
|Toyota||Prius||2010||Everett, WA||$ 975|
|Cadillac||Deville||2004||Renton, WA||$ 980|
|Ford||Escape||2008||Spokane Valley, WA||$ 1,025|
|Honda||Accord||1998||Federal Way, WA||$ 175|
How Do I Get Rid of a Junk Car in Washington State?
You can get rid of a junk car in Washington in a few different ways. You can take the junk car to your local Washington junkyard, have the junkyard tow your car, or scrap your car. Either method you choose, you will have to provide information about the car you’re junking, including the VIN. You may also need the car’s title and registration.
Do You Need a Vehicle Title to Junk a Car in Washington State?
Whether you’re required to obtain a vehicle title when you junk a car in Washington depends on the junkyard. If you don’t have the car’s title, you must provide proof of ownership documentation. Check with the Washington junkyard you intend on using for their specific junking requirements.
How Much Does It Cost to Junk a Car in Washington State?
Depending on the method you choose to junk your car, you may be required to pay different fees. Some junkyards in Washington charge a fee to tow your car to their junkyard. If you don’t have the car’s title, you may have to pay the junkyard to get a duplicate title and other fees associated with this service.
What is a Junk Title in Washington State?
A junk car title in the state of Washington is a title that is given to vehicles that can’t be registered for road use again and don’t have any monetary value unless the car’s parts are scrapped. Junk cars are often vehicles that have extensive frame damage, were involved in a flood, or experienced some type of mechanical failure. Also, cars with junk titles can’t be sold for use in Washington.
Can You Junk a Car With an Expired Registration in Washington State?
Cars with an expired registration can be junked. However, cars that don’t have registration can’t be left in public areas, such as shopping center parking lots, on the side of the roads and highways, and other public places.
How Do I Get a Junk Vehicle Title in Washington State?
To receive a junk car title in the state of Washington, you must have the car’s Washington title. If you have lost the car title, you must complete an Affidavit of Loss/Release of Interest Application (Form TD-420-040). In the “Transfer of Title by Seller” section of the car title, sign your name, so you can transfer ownership of the vehicle to the salvage dealer.
If you’re completing the junk car process online, you must provide the car’s:
- Your address for the junk vehicle title (if applicable)
- Your phone number
- Email address
- Photo of your vehicle (optional in some Washington cities)
- Photo of the VIN
- Certificate of Destruction (or similar documentation)
You may be asked to submit more or fewer documents depending on the city in Washington you reside.
What Paperwork Do I Need to Scrap a Car in Washington State?
In the state of Washington, there are different documents are required to scrap your car, which can include the:
- The Washington Certificate of Title
- Lien sale documents
- A salvage certificate
The above-listed documents must be properly endorsed for transfer and/or properly endorsed for registration. If you don’t have the car’s registration, you must provide a bill of sale, which may be able to be used instead of the vehicle title signatures.
Can You Sell a Car With a Salvage Vehicle Title in Washington State?
Sure you can! Selling a car with a salvage title in the state of Washington is not illegal. However, you must prep the car to be sold. If you have already reported your car as salvage to the Washington Department of Motor Vehicles (WA DMV), you can restore the car or receive a revived salvage car title, which is awesome for mechanics who are looking for a rebuilding project.
How Do I Get Rid of a Car I Don’t Want?
It happens to the best of us. If you have a car you don’t want, there are different ways you can get rid of it. If the car is literally “junk”, you can scrap or junk the car, which put some extra cash in your pocket. If your car still functions and doesn’t have too much damage, you can sell your car to another individual in a private sale.
Does the WA DMV Buy Old Cars?
No, the WA DMV doesn’t buy old cars but don’t get too down about it. There are other ways you can get rid of an old car. If your car is at least 25 years old, you may have an antique! If your car is in good condition, you’d be surprised at how many people will be interested in your car. Even if your car is not in the best condition, there are still people who will be interested in buying the car.
If you have a car that’s old and only good for parts, that’s a good thing too! When you junk or scrap your car, you can put a little cash in your wallet, and you no longer have to worry about your car.
Can I Scrap My Car Without a Registration Document?
Yes. You can scrap your car without its registration. However, you will have the task of finding a junkyard in Washington that will junk your car, such as a scrap yard. When you scrap your car, its parts will be turned into different building materials, such as steel and bricks. Scrapping your car is a great way to recycle!
Can I Scrap a Car That Is Not Registered In My Name?
If the car isn’t legally registered in your name, by law, the car is not yours, which means you are not the rightful, legal owner, which is the primary reason junkyards require proof of ownership documentation.
Whether you are scrapping or junking your car, you must have proof of ownership documentation. Proof of ownership for this scenario doesn’t include a bill of sale or proof of an active WA auto insurance policy. Maybe we don’t need to say it, but we’re going to say it anyway. Cash and bribery aren’t a good idea in this situation!
Proof of ownership documents may not seem like a big deal, but to junkyards and scrap yards, in addition to the VIN, proof of ownership documentation is an essential part of the junking and scrapping process. Why? Junkyards and scrap yards must provide information regarding the car they’re scrapping and the person who provided the vehicle.
Can I Scrap a Car Without a Vehicle Title?
Although the car’s title is proof of ownership documentation, the car title isn’t the only proof of ownership documentation available. So, the good news is, if you no longer have the car’s title, you can apply for a Washington Duplicate Car Title, which is an Affidavit of Loss/Release of Interest (Form TD-420-040).
Washington junkyards that allow you to junk your car without the car’s title will give you less money than you were originally quoted because the junkyard will have to apply for the car’s title and pay the applicable fees. These fees will be deducted from the money you’re receiving for junking or scrapping your car.
What Do You Need to Junk a Car in WA State?
To junk your car in Washington, you need to head to your local WA DMV branch. Make sure you bring the car’s Certificate of Title, which must be in your name or endorsed for transfer of ownership to you, for proof of ownership of the car. You will also need the car’s license plate(s).
You may also be asked to pay additional fees if the car you want to junk is not currently registered or designated to be junked, also referred to as planned non-operational status. You can contact your local WA DMV for more information.
How Old Does a Car Have to be to Not Require a Vehicle Title in WA State?
Most cars in Washington require a title. However, some cars are an exception to this rule, such as:
- Golf carts
- Hauled vehicles
- Disaster relief vehicles/equipment
- Forklift trucks
- Miniature motorcycles
- Firefighting equipment (fire engines, fire trucks, and similar equipment)
How Do You Junk a Car in WA?
Let’s get ready to junk it! To junk your car in the state of Washington, you need to make sure you have the required paperwork. If you don’t have the car’s title and/or registration, there are some Washington junkyards or Washington scrap yards that will allow you to junk your car without these documents, assuming you have proof of ownership documentation. You can also request duplicates of the documents you have lost or misplaced.
Current Scrap Metal Prices in WA?
You probably never wondered about the current scrap metal prices in Washington until now. Knowing the current prices for scrap metal helps you determine how much to expect from scrapping or junking your car. Below you will find the current scrap metal prices in Washington:
- Copper (Clean) – $4.12 – $5.07
- Aluminum – $0.19 – $1.01
- Cans – $0.06 – $0.10
- Clean Brass – $2.47 – $3.30
- Lead – $0.57 – $0.91
- Stainless Steel – $0.82 – $1.24
- Steel Radiators – $1.24 – $2.88
Washington State Junkyard Locations
There are different junkyards and scrap yards in the state of Washington. Check out the list below to see if you can find a junkyard near you.
GT Metals & Salvage
2001 38th Ave
Longview, WA 98632
Monday – Thursday (9 AM – 4:15 PM)
Friday (9 AM – 3:45 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
U-Pull-It Auto Parts
14 E Washington Ave
Yakima, WA 98903
Monday – Friday (8 AM – 5 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (8 AM- 5 PM)
Budget Auto Wrecking
26205 78th Ave S
Kent, WA 98032
Monday – Friday (8:30 AM – 5 PM)
Saturday (8:30 AM – 5 PM)
Grand Forks Auto Wrecking
5903 Pioneer Way E
Puyallup, WA 98371
Monday – Friday (9 AM – 5 PM)
Saturday (10 AM – 4 PM)
Congratulations! You’ve been named the junk car guru of Washington. Now that you know the ins and outs of junking your car in the state of Washington, you can successfully junk your car with confidence and a smile. Happy junking!