Junking a vehicle in Michigan doesn’t have to be a hassle. Whether you’re junking your vehicle because of expensive repair costs, accident damage, mechanical failure, or for some other reason, this guide will help you junk your vehicle according to the laws in Michigan.
How Do I Sell My Car to a Junkyard In Michigan?
Selling your car to a Michigan junkyard shouldn’t be too much of an inconvenience. Whether your car is drivable, has a few dents, or missing different parts doesn’t matter. Michigan junkyards will accept your vehicle regardless of its current condition.
Now is an excellent time to put the internet to use! Type in “junkyards near me” or a similar phrase, and ta-da! You have a list of junkyards in your Michigan neighborhood, or a junkyard close to it. Most junkyards have a website, so check it out. You will be asked to provide specific information regarding your vehicle, such as the vehicle’s identification number (VIN).
After you provide the VIN, you will be required to provide a few more details about your vehicle. Junkyards want to know if your vehicle is driveable. You may be asked to provide photos of the vehicle to verify the damage (if any).
Once you provide information about your vehicle and a few details about yourself, you will have a quote. If you’re okay with the quote, you can accept the terms and proceed to the next steps. If the quote is not to your liking, you can check out the next junkyard on the list.
Junk Car Removal Companies That Buy Unwanted Vehicles In Michigan
You can get a quote from a junk car buyer that will come to your home, pick up your car and leave you a check. Call or use their online form to get a quote for your junk car. You could be rid of your junk are a few days with just one phone call.
Here are 3 companies that will pay you for your junk car.
- Peddle or call them at (844) 334-0582
- Wheelzy or call them at (855) 602-2139
- CarBrain or call them at (877) 877-7911
How Much A Junk Car Is Worth In Michigan
You can sell your junk car in Michigan for a couple hundred to over a thousand dollars and more sometimes. How much you make from selling your unwanted car will depend on the condition of the vehicle and the market value of the particular year, make and model.
|Ford||F150||2006||Detroit, MI||$ 490|
|Lexus||GX||2002||Grand Rapids, MI||$ 1,345|
|Honda||Odyssey||2008||Warren City, MI||$ 410|
|Ford||Escape||2001||Sterling Heights, MI||$ 305|
|Honda||Accord||1998||Ann Arbor, MI||$ 240|
|Saturn||Outlook||2006||Lansing, MI||$ 420|
|Pontiac||Grand Am||1994||Dearborn, MI||$ 220|
|Cadillac||STS||2006||Detroit, MI||$ 470|
|Jeep||Cherokee||1998||Grand Rapids, MI||$ 215|
|Chrysler||Town & Country||2003||Ann Arbor, MI||$ 365|
Junk Car Removal Service Locations In Michigan
Get cash for your junk car when you sell it in Michigan, including in the following locations:
- Detroit, MI
- Grand Rapids, MI
- Warren City, MI
- Sterling Heights, MI
- Ann Arbor, MI
- Lansing, MI
- Dearborn, MI
- Clinton Charter Township, MI
- Canton Charter Township, MI
- Livonia, MI
How Do I Get Rid of a Junk Car In Michigan?
Getting rid of your junk car doesn’t have to take up a lot of your time. Using the internet saves a lot of time. Use your search engine to find local Michigan junkyards. Tell them a few details about your vehicle and yourself, and receive your quote. If all is well with the quote you receive, you can proceed to junk your car. If the quote is not to your liking, you can always find a different local junkyard.
Make sure you have the vehicle’s (VIN) handy. Junkyards want to make sure the vehicle you’re junking matches the vehicle’s details.
Do You Need a Vehicle Title to Junk a Car In Michigan?
Not all Michigan junkyards require a vehicle title to junk a vehicle. However, you will be asked for a document that proves ownership of the vehicle. Check with the junkyard to ensure you have the necessary documentation.
How Much Does It Cost to Junk a Car In Michigan?
There is usually no cost to junk a vehicle in the state of Michigan, but it depends on the method you use to junk your vehicle. If your car is drivable, you can take your car to the junkyard and won’t be charged a towing fee. If your car is not drivable, you will have to pay to have your car towed to the junkyard.
What is a Junk Title In Michigan?
A junk vehicle title in Michigan is a car title that doesn’t allow the car to be registered for operation on the roads and highways of Michigan in the future. In this scenario, the vehicle may have irreparable damage and no value, unless the vehicle is being scrapped for parts. Be advised that a car with a Michigan junk car title can’t be sold for use.
Can You Junk a Car With an Expired Registration In Michigan?
You are allowed to junk a car with an expired registration, but you can’t have an unregistered vehicle in a public place. So, even though your vehicle is “junk”, make sure it’s in your garage or similar location to avoid paying unnecessary fees. Unregistered and untitled vehicles are not the same. An unregistered vehicle is not registered with the MI DMV. An untitled vehicle does not have a vehicle title.
How Do I Get a Junk Vehicle Title In Michigan?
Certain vehicles in the state of Michigan require specialty titles. These titles are obtained through a different process based on the vehicle’s condition and assembly. In Michigan, you will need to get an Application for an Original Vehicle Title (click here to download the form). On the form, you must check the scrap title option in the top right corner of the form. Vehicles that have a junk title can’t receive license plates and can’t be used on public roads.
To get a junk vehicle title in Michigan, you need to:
- Complete the Application for an Original Vehicle Title (click here for the form)
- Have a document that proves your ownership of the vehicle
- A check or money order made payable to the State of Michigan for the $15 title application fee
You must submit the required documents and required payment in person by visiting your local Secretary of State office or mail the documents and payment to:
Michigan Department of State
Internal Services Section
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918
If you are completing the junking process online, you need to provide the following information:
- Provide the vehicle’s VIN
- Your address for the junk vehicle title (if applicable)
- Phone number
- Email address
- Photo of your vehicle (may be optional in certain Michigan cities)
- Photo of the vehicle’s VIN
Keep in mind that you may be asked to provide more or fewer documents depending on the city in Michigan you reside.
What Paperwork Do I Need to Scrap a Car?
In Michigan, when you scrap a vehicle, you need to complete and submit the following paperwork:
- The Michigan Certificate of Title (must be properly endorsed for transfer)
- Lien sale documents (properly executed for registration and transfer)
- A junk certificate (must be properly endorsed for transfer)
If you don’t have the vehicle’s registration, you must provide a bill of sale. The vehicle’s bill of sale may be able to be used instead of vehicle title signatures.
Can You Sell a Car With a Salvage Vehicle Title In Michigan?
A salvage vehicle can be sold in Michigan, but it must be prepared for sale. If you have already reported your vehicle as a salvage car to the MI DMV, you can restore it or get a revived salvage vehicle title, which is great if you’re a mechanic who enjoys rebuilding vehicles.
How Do I Get Rid of a Car I Don’t Want?
You can get rid of a vehicle quicker than you may imagine. You can junk the car or scrap it if the vehicle is a junk vehicle. If your car still has some life left in it, you can sell it to someone else for the remaining years the car has left. If you sell the vehicle to another individual, the car must be sold in a private sale.
Does the MI DMV Buy Old Cars?
The Michigan DMV doesn’t buy old cars, but some people do! Want to get rid of your old car? You can sell your old car to an individual in a private sale. You may be surprised at how many people are interested in older vehicles.
Can I Scrap My Car Without a Registration Document?
Some Michigan junkyards will junk your vehicle without the vehicle’s registration and some junkyards won’t. Your job is to find a junkyard that accepts vehicles free of charge or take the car to a scrap yard where you can scrap the vehicle for parts. When you scrap a vehicle, its usable parts will be turned into essential building materials, such as bricks and steel.
Can I Scrap a Car That Is Not Registered In My Name?
The vehicle’s registration is not the same as the vehicle’s title. You won’t be able to junk a vehicle or scrap a vehicle without proof of ownership documentation. In this scenario, having the bill of sale or proof of insurance will not suffice as proper proof of ownership documentation.
You are required to submit a proof of ownership document because Michigan junkyards are responsible for reporting who is junking a vehicle and when the vehicle was junked. A proof of ownership document is also required because the junkyard needs to be sure you are the legal owner and not junking a random vehicle to get extra cash!
Can I Scrap a Car Without a Vehicle Title?
If you don’t have the vehicle’s title, don’t get discouraged. You may still be able to junk your car in Michigan. If you find a junkyard that will junk your car without the title, expect to get paid less than your original quote or receive less money than they would normally pay. Why? Without the title, the junkyard has to request the vehicle’s title so you can transfer ownership of the vehicle. The titling fees will be deducted from the junk car’s original junking price.
What Do You Need to Junk a Car In MI?
When you choose to junk your vehicle in Michigan, you need to make sure you have the necessary paperwork. Visit your local MI DMV branch and bring the vehicle’s certificate of title and license plate(s). The certificate of title must be in your name or endorsed for transfer of ownership to you.
Be advised that you may also be required to pay additional fees if the vehicle doesn’t currently have a junk title or similar documentation. Contact your local MI DMV branch for specific information regarding your situation.
How Old Does a Car Have to be to Not Require a Vehicle Title in MI?
Most vehicles in Michigan require a title. However, certain types of vehicles are an exception to this rule. The vehicles that do not require a title in MI are:
- Farming equipment and farm tractors – this exception does not include vehicles, such as farm trailers or trucks that are operated on the road between destinations.
- Vehicles that are registered in a different state for 90 days – Once 90 days pass, Michigan residents must title and register their vehicles in the state of Michigan.
- Trailers weighing less than 2,500 pounds – although these trailers don’t require titles, they must be registered in the state of Michigan. This title exemption does not include camper trailers. All trailer coaches must be titled and registered.
- Moped scooters – these scooters don’t require a title, but they must be registered.
Other vehicles in Michigan that may not require a vehicle title are:
- Disaster relief vehicles
- Fire fighting equipment (fire trucks, fire engines, etc.)
- Golf carts
- Forklift trucks
- Hauled vehicles
- Miniature motorcycles
How Do You Junk a Car In MI?
You don’t need to hire someone to help you junk your car. You can take your car to the junkyard if the vehicle is drivable, or you can pay the fee to have your car towed to a junkyard. The method you choose to junk your car will determine the fees you are responsible for paying. Make sure you have the necessary paperwork to make your car junking experience as smooth as possible.
Current Scrap Metal Prices in MI?
You may have never wondered about the current scrap metal prices in Michigan until now. It’s good to know the prices per pound a scrap yard or scrap metal recycling company in Michigan pays before deciding to scrap your car. Below are the standard scrap metal prices in Michigan:
- Copper (Clean) – $4.12 – $5.07
- Aluminum – $0.19 – $1.01
- Cans – $0.06 – $0.10
- Clean Brass – $2.47 – $3.30
- Lead – $0.57 – $0.91
- Stainless Steel – $0.82 – $1.24
- Steel Radiators – $1.24 – $2.88
Michigan Junkyard Locations
Below you will find different junkyard locations in the state of Michigan. Check it out to see if you can find a junkyard near you!
Cats Auto Salvage
5405 W Mount Hope Hwy
Lansing, MI 48917
Monday – Friday (8 AM – 5:30 PM)
Saturday (10 AM – 2 PM)
Owens Auto Salvage
1927 E Bombay Rd
Midland, MI 48642
Monday – Friday (8:30 AM – 5:30 PM)
Saturday and Sunday (Closed)
1500 Cornell Rd
Owosso, MI 48867
Monday – Friday (8 AM – 6 PM)
Saturday (8 AM – 5 PM)
Congratulations are in order! You’re officially a car-junking guru. Now that you have discovered the ins and outs of junking your car in Michigan, you can successfully junk your vehicle with ease. Happy junking!